Fort Worth DWI Defense Lawyer
20+ Years of Experience in Criminal Justice from a Former Law Enforcement Officer
Have you been stopped or arrested for driving while intoxicated? Let The Shipley Law Firm, PLLC get you out of your legal dilemma. Mr. Shipley is a former law enforcement officer and FBI agent who knows the ins and outs of the criminal justice system and the investigation procedures that go into a criminal charge. Not many attorneys have this kind of background in investigation, a skill that can prove critical to defending you against your DWI allegations.
Schedule a free initial consultation with The Shipley Law Firm, PLLC to get started immediately. Representing drivers in Tarrant County.
What Is “Driving While Intoxicated?”
Under Texas’ DWI laws, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while:
- possessing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater; or
- intoxicated by drugs or alcohol in such a way that you lack the normal use of your mental or physical faculties.
Drivers under the age of 21 years old can be charged with DWI for having any detectable amount of alcohol in their system according to Texas’ “zero tolerance” laws.
One key element of Texas’ DWI statute is that it is possible to get a DWI without actually driving. The law establishes that it is illegal to simply “operate” a vehicle while intoxicated, so this could broadly apply to any action that affects the functioning of a motor vehicle in a way that enables its use.
Penalties Based on Prior Convictions
The penalties for DWI depend on a variety of factors, including whether you have prior convictions and the severity of your BAC upon arrest. The jail time, fines, and license suspension penalties for first and subsequence offenses are:
- 1st offense – 72 hours to 6 months in jail (12 months if you had a BAC of .15% or greater); up to $2,000 in fines ($4,000 if you had a BAC of .15% or greater); 90 days to 12 months of license suspension; ignition interlock device (IID) use if you seek an occupational license
- 2nd offense – 30 days to 12 months in jail; up to $4,000 in fines; 180 days to 2 years of license suspension; 1 year of IID use if you have a prior conviction within 5 years
- 3rd offense – 2-10 years in jail; up to $10,000 in fines; 180 days to 2 years of license suspension; IID use for 1 year if you have a prior conviction within 5 years
You can also incur an additional period of license suspension if you violate Texas’ “implied consent” rules, which require all drivers who have been lawfully arrested for a DWI to submit to a blood or breath test. Refusing a test for the first time will result in 180 days of additional license suspension; refusing a subsequent time will result in 2 years of license suspension.
Let The Shipley Law Firm, PLLC Defend Your Driving Rights
DWI charges are one of the most common criminal charges drivers face. Incurring multiple DWI convictions could seriously impact your driving privileges, so it is important to fight against DWI charges or arrests that you believe are unfairly harsh. The Shipley Law Firm, PLLC is led by an experienced former FBI agent who will know what elements of your case to thoroughly investigate to strengthen your defense.
Schedule a free consultation or call (817) 783-4899 The Shipley Law Firm, PLLC to get started on your DWI defense today. An attorney will return your call within 24 hours.